Musical Dystopia – All the Drama You Need in One Post and Two Chapters!

This is in response to WordPress’ Weekly Writing Challenge, titled Dystopia! (The Musical). I couldn’t sit this one out – it tickled my funny bone too much. And the end result is a fat simplistic musical that would require a very strange nonrhythmic music to even work, because the syllables count is a mess. But it’s still a lovable and silly bundle filled with black-hearted puppies of doom. Maybe it’s even enjoyable. Anyway, eat your heart out Orwell!

DYSTOPIA! – THE MUSICAL

Oh, we shall see in a moment who will be eating hearts.Dramatis Personæ:

> The Chorus of Orwell’s clones – they sing beautifully.
> Trans-Aldohux – he’s seen better days.
> Sentient Room 101 – it’s too talkative.
> Big Neo – the lady who wakes the sleeper.
> Lil’ Bro – that guy, yeah…
> The Brazilian Equilibrium V – the drug.
> Children of Bookburners – would someone think of them?


Chapter 1 in which the sleeper wakes.

Big Neo
Wake up, Bro, wake up, Bro~!
It’s time for some Espresso~!

Lil’ Bro
Ah, what is that? Why do you wake me from my glorious slumber?
In a second, when I come to, you’ll have to deal with my anger!

Big Neo
Don’t speak, just drink!

Lil’ Bro

<Slurp slurp>
It tastes strange.
What’s the change?
Why is it ORANGE!?

Big Neo
It’s healthy, so don’t be such a bore!
Don’t think about it anymore!
It’s got nanobots, it’s got bacteria.
It’s straight from our cafeteria~!

Lil’ Bro
Let me think, let me think!

Big Neo
You’ll do it after you drink!

<Lil’ Bro drinks the coffee, cello solo plays>

Lil’ Bro
God, before the sleep I had it all
I had chicks, I had gold, I had drugs and rock n’ roll.
I was king, I was lord, I had power over all!

Big Neo
And. Now. You. Will. Take. The. Pills.

Lil’ Bro
I think, I’d prefer to run to the hills!

The Brazilian Equilibrium V
You take me, man, please.
In your mouth I go with ease!

Lil’ Bro
This doesn’t fill my mind with glee.
Is the red pill talking to me?
The blue one seems disconcerting too.
What do they even do?

Big Neo
They are a regular dose of life
to save you from the strife.

There are things in the water, you know?
And in the air and earth they grow.
They would eat a god alive,
if he suddenly decided to arrive.
They would drain you like a punctured balloon
and bend you like a spoon.

Evolution is a bitch, but we’ve dealt with it without a hitch.
Besides, a little drug-induced genetic change is all the rage in this age.

Lil’ Bro
I can’t believe it’s gotten so tough!

Big Neo
Stop talking or it will get rough!
Know that I’m not here to listen to your deluded blabber,
you take the pills, or I’ll punch you so hard, you’ll begin to stutter.

<Lil’ Bro swallows the drugs, and dances a sad little dance>

Lil’ Bro
Are you happy now?

Big Neo
Am I happy now?
It’s a matter of life and death, you whelp.
Is it really so hard to understand we’re here to help?
Three times a day take these pills,
and you’ll spare yourself the thrills
of your own self-made demise
which I personally think would be wise.

Lil’ Bro
Why don’t you just leave me, you troll?
Your presence is taking its bloody toll
on my conscience and my brain,
Oh, am I even sane?

<Big Neo grabs Bro and takes him to a different room. The sign on the door says “Room 101”>

The Chorus of Orwell’s clones
It’s not nineteen eighty four anymore~!
Don’t act as if we’ve rotten to the core~!
Why can’t you just enjoy the brand new day?
We hope you will find your way!

Stop shaking your head and pouting like a child
A little drug dependence is but a mild
annoyance, which we made seamless and nice
in comparison to the past, so take my advice:
Shut up and dance, or do penance!

Intermission with Zager & Evans

Chapter 2 in which everyone gets annoyed.

Sentient Room 101
I’m a former slaughterhouse with memories of blood and war,
I’ve been visited by cats with their dirty paws,
I’ve seen death, I’ve seen tears,
I know all your human fears!

Lil’ Bro
Reveal yourself, you strange-sounding loon!
When I get you, you’ll sing a different tune!

Sentient Room 101
You dumb monkey furniture, I’ll eat you all in your sleep!

Big Neo
Don’t listen to the room, it’s annoyed, because it didn’t get a proper sweep.

Lil’ Bro
So everyone has a voice in here to talk with whoever listens?
I don’t like the sound of that, I don’t see any sense!

Big Neo
Oh, they’re useful in their own ways,
Just, please, ignore what it says.
We need to perform some tests before you leave this facility.
They will examine your skills, intelligence and tenacity.

Hmm? Hmm hmm. I feel my heart going out.
Excuse me for a moment as I sway a bit and faint.

<Big Neo faints, falls to the ground, the floor opens up and takes her away>

Lil’ Bro
God, I am but a monkey to you, aren’t I?
Do you think I haven’t seen a lift with my own eyes?
Let me out! At once stop this charade!
I hate you! I won’t sing you a serenade!

Why can’t we talk, communicate, exchange words?
Why do you have to manipulate and complicate simple chores?
Explain stuff to me, let me listen and learn.
Stop stroking your ego with this dumb needless churn!

Sentient Room 101
They won’t answer. Silly buggers.

They want you analyzing the room – looking for a way out.
Digging and probably sobbing – they want to see you doubt.
But I don’t need to observe as you mumble, keel over and cry.
The room is impressed, you can go out and die.

<Lil’ Bro mumbles anyway. He laments that dystopia is other people,
goes through the freshly opened door, leaves the room and…>

The Chorus of Orwell’s clones
It’s not nineteen eighty four anymore~!
Don’t act as if we’ve rotten to the core~!
Why can’t you just enjoy the brand new day?
We hope you will find our way!

Stop shaking your head and pouting like a child
A little mind game is but a mild
annoyance, which we made seamless and nice
in comparison to the past, so take my advice:
Shut up and dance, or do penance!

<Scene changes to the main camera room with Trans-AldoHux sitting in his big chair.>

Trans-AldoHux
Well, that was a disaster,
Why did we even wake this buster?

We offered him something new and amusing,
Yet he acted by completely refusing.

He evaded the challenge, didn’t adapt,
and just grumped like an old tramp

Guys?

Children of Bookburners
We don’t care, we don’t care,
we really really don’t care.
We’d sing you a song,
but that’d be too tiring for our tongue.

Brazilian Equilibrium V
I agree. Now, eat me, eat me whole.
For the children, eat some more!

About tobecooper

https://invasionofreality.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Blabberings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Musical Dystopia – All the Drama You Need in One Post and Two Chapters!

  1. SoundEagle says:

    Very clever! SoundEagle loves the rhyming and what seems to be a “Matrix” scenario . . . . .

  2. Pingback: Writing Challenge: The Demons Of Dystopia… | Mirth and Motivation

  3. Pingback: Crushed (A short story) | The Jittery Goat

Leave a Reply

